skip to content

Our commissioners

Principal Commissioner for Children and Young People

Liana Buchanan commenced as the Principal Commissioner for Children and Young People on 4 April 2016.

Liana was most recently the Executive Officer of the Federation of Community Legal Centres, where she lead the peak body for Victoria’s 50 community legal centres and was a strong advocate to improve the justice system’s response to disadvantaged and vulnerable community members.

Prior to that, Liana was responsible for monitoring and review of Victoria’s prisons and the corrections system as Director, Office of Correctional Services Review between 2009 and 2013. She has also held legal and policy positions with a social justice focus in a number of agencies including the Equal Opportunity Commission Victoria, Department of Justice, Office for the Status of Women (SA) and Women’s Legal Service (SA).

Liana is a part-time Commissioner on the Victorian Law Reform Commission and a member of the Minister for Equality’s LGBTI Justice Working Group.

Commissioner for Aboriginal Children and Young People

Andrew Jackomos was appointed in mid 2013 as the inaugural Commissioner for Aboriginal Children and Young People (Victoria), the first such position in Australia.

Andrew is of the Yorta Yorta community and for the past 14 years was the Director of the Koori Justice Unit, in the Victorian Department of Justice; responsible since 2000 for coordinating the development and implementation of three phases of the Victorian Aboriginal Justice Agreement (AJA).

During that time, Andrew oversaw the growth of the Koori workforce from three in 1999 to employ well over 140; as well as the establishment and growth of the Koori Court network within the Magistrate's, Children's and County jurisdictions. He is most proud of the relationship developed between the Koori community and the justice system, as represented by the Aboriginal Justice Forum and the supporting network of Regional Aboriginal Justice Advisory Committees.

Andrew's prior roles include: National Operations Manager, Aboriginal Hostels Limited; Victorian State Director, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC); Chairperson, Yuroke (Melbourne) Regional Council (ATSIC); Regional Manager for North Queensland and Manager, Policy and Secretariat Unit with the federal Aboriginal Development Commission.

Andrew is a member of the National Congress of Australia's First Peoples, the Aboriginal Justice Forum and the Indigenous Family Violence Partnership Forum. In 2006 he was awarded the Public Service Medal and was admitted as a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (Victoria). Andrew has also been acknowledged as a Victorian NAIDOC Patron.

Read about Establishing the Commission